Our Board of Directors

Gateway is proud to have board members that come from a diverse and experienced background. We have community and business leaders and former survivors on our board team who provide strategic direction, funding and volunteer work to serve domestic violence victims.

Board Members

Deborah Chen, President

Deborah Chen joined the Gateway board in 2015. She has extensive customer service and logistics management experience at Trinidad Benham Corp., WhiteWave Foods, Infinite Campus and Agfa Compugraphic. She adds operational process and people management expertise to Gateway. Deb volunteered at Blue Sky Bridge in Boulder, CO. She happily and successfully raised four children as a stay-home mom for sixteen years and studied at Merrimac College.


Cynthia Addy, Vice President
Human Resources Manager
Inflection Energy LLC

Joe Costello CFP, CSSC
EPS Settlements Group, Inc.

Karl Chen, Treasurer
CEO & Principal Partner
What Tech Companies Need

Karl Chen is a high-tech entrepreneur, CEO & Principal Partner at What Tech Companies Need. WTCNeed is a consulting company working with growth-oriented technology companies. Karl has more than 30 years of executive, business strategy, marketing and sales management experience at leading tech firms including BMC Software, Compaq, Dell, HP, LeftHand Networks & others. He has been a Gateway board member since 2015 and led the re-branding effort for Gateway Domestic Violence Services. Karl has a MBA from Bentley University and a Bachelor of Science degree from Babson College.

Elexis Johnson, Secretary
Assistant Category Manager/Vendor Programs
eBags, Inc.

Mallory Richardson
Policy Advisor
Squire Patton Boggs

Mallory Richardson is a lobbyist at the international law firm Squire Patton Boggs where she represents municipalities, private entities, and non-profits on a variety of legislative and regulatory matters. Mallory received a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and History from the George Washington University. She also currently serves on the Young Professionals Council for Special Olympics DC.